AMD Radeon RX 9050 vs NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q Comparison
AMD Radeon RX 9050
GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q
Analysis: AMD Radeon RX 9050 vs NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q
Head-to-Head Benchmarks
The recorded data shows no benchmark results for either GPU, so a direct performance comparison cannot be quantified. The database lists zero head-to-head benchmark entries, zero wins for the AMD Radeon RX 9050, and zero wins for the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q. Both products sit at the 50th percentile among all GPUs in the database, indicating that without measured scores, their relative standing is neutral rather than indicative of actual performance. The AMD part carries a theoretical FP32 throughput of 10.65 TFLOPS, while the NVIDIA part lists 11.34 TFLOPS, a difference of approximately 6% in raw compute specification, but these figures are not validated by benchmark results in the database. Similarly, texture rate favors the NVIDIA chip at 177.1 GTexel/s versus 166.4 GTexel/s for AMD, while pixel rate reverses the comparison, with the AMD chip delivering 166.4 GPixel/s against 59.04 GPixel/s for NVIDIA. None of these specification-derived deltas can be confirmed as performance outcomes because the benchmark section remains empty.
FAQ
Q: Which GPU has a higher boost clock?
A: The AMD Radeon RX 9050 lists a boost clock of 2600 MHz, while the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q lists a boost clock of 1230 MHz. The AMD part also has a base clock of 1330 MHz and a game clock of 1920 MHz, whereas the NVIDIA part has a base clock of 735 MHz and no game clock specified.
Q: What memory configurations do these two GPUs use?
A: Both GPUs use 8 GB of GDDR6 memory on a 128-bit bus. The AMD Radeon RX 9050 has a memory clock of 2250 MHz (18 Gbps effective) and a bandwidth of 288.0 GB/s. The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q has a memory clock of 2000 MHz (16 Gbps effective) and a bandwidth of 256.0 GB/s.
Q: How do the transistor counts and die sizes compare?
A: The AMD Radeon RX 9050 uses 29,700 million transistors on a 199 mm² die, yielding a transistor density of 149.2M per mm². The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q uses 22,900 million transistors on a 188 mm² die, yielding a transistor density of 121.8M per mm². Both chips are fabricated by TSMC, with AMD at 4 nm and NVIDIA at 5 nm.
Q: What are the thermal design power (TDP) ratings?
A: The AMD Radeon RX 9050 has a TDP of 92 W and requires a 1x 8-pin power connector with a suggested PSU of 250 W. The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q has a TDP of 35 W, uses no power connectors, and has no suggested PSU listed in the database.
Q: Which GPU supports more shading units and ray tracing cores?
A: The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q has 4608 shading units and 36 ray tracing cores, plus 144 tensor cores. The AMD Radeon RX 9050 has 1024 shading units and 16 ray tracing cores, with no tensor cores listed. The NVIDIA part also has 144 texture mapping units versus 64 for AMD, but AMD has 64 ROPs versus 48 for NVIDIA.
Q: What is the release timing for each product?
A: The AMD Radeon RX 9050 has a release date of July 27, 2026, and is part of the Radeon RX 9000 series with the Navi 44 chip. The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q has a release date of January 2, 2023, and belongs to the GeForce 40-series with the AD106 chip.
Architecture Differences
The AMD Radeon RX 9050 is built on RDNA 4.0 architecture, which represents the Navi IV generation within the RX 9000 series. Its predecessor is listed as Navi III, and it uses a 4 nm process node at TSMC. The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q is built on Ada Lovelace architecture, part of the GeForce 40 Mobile generation, with a 5 nm process node also at TSMC. The AMD chip has a transistor density of 149.2M per mm², higher than the NVIDIA chip's 121.8M per mm², despite the NVIDIA die being slightly smaller at 188 mm² versus 199 mm².
The AMD RDNA 4.0 implementation uses 1024 shading units, 64 TMUs, 64 ROPs, and 16 ray tracing cores. It has no tensor cores listed. The NVIDIA Ada Lovelace implementation uses 4608 shading units, 144 TMUs, 48 ROPs, 36 ray tracing cores, and 144 tensor cores. The shading unit count difference is substantial, with NVIDIA at more than four times AMD's count, but AMD compensates with a higher ROP count and a much higher pixel rate. The AMD part lists a pixel rate of 166.4 GPixel/s, while NVIDIA lists 59.04 GPixel/s. Texture rate favors NVIDIA at 177.1 GTexel/s versus 166.4 GTexel/s.
Both GPUs support DirectX 12 Ultimate (12_2), OpenGL 4.6, and Vulkan 1.4. The AMD part uses a PCIe 5.0 x16 bus interface, while the NVIDIA part uses PCIe 4.0 x8. Display outputs differ as well: AMD lists 1x HDMI 2.1b and 2x DisplayPort 2.1a, while NVIDIA lists "Portable Device Dependent," reflecting its mobile IGP form factor. The AMD part is dual-slot with a 1x 8-pin power connector, whereas the NVIDIA part is IGP with no power connectors.
Specification Differences
| Field | AMD Radeon RX 9050 | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q |
|---|---|---|
| Process node | 4 nm | 5 nm |
| Transistors | 29,700 million | 22,900 million |
| Die size | 199 mm² | 188 mm² |
| Transistor density | 149.2M / mm² | 121.8M / mm² |
| Base clock | 1330 MHz | 735 MHz |
| Boost clock | 2600 MHz | 1230 MHz |
| Game clock | 1920 MHz | Not specified |
| Memory clock | 2250 MHz (18 Gbps effective) | 2000 MHz (16 Gbps effective) |
| Memory bandwidth | 288.0 GB/s | 256.0 GB/s |
| Shading units | 1024 | 4608 |
| TMUs | 64 | 144 |
| ROPs | 64 | 48 |
| Ray tracing cores | 16 | 36 |
| Tensor cores | Not specified | 144 |
| Pixel rate | 166.4 GPixel/s | 59.04 GPixel/s |
| Texture rate | 166.4 GTexel/s | 177.1 GTexel/s |
| FP32 | 10.65 TFLOPS | 11.34 TFLOPS |
| FP16 | 10.65 TFLOPS (1:1) | 11.34 TFLOPS (1:1) |
| TDP | 92 W | 35 W |
| Slot width | Dual-slot | IGP |
| Power connectors | 1x 8-pin | None |
| Suggested PSU | 250 W | Not specified |
| Bus interface | PCIe 5.0 x16 | PCIe 4.0 x8 |
| Display outputs | 1x HDMI 2.1b, 2x DisplayPort 2.1a | Portable Device Dependent |
| Release date | July 27, 2026 | January 2, 2023 |
| Successor | Not specified | GeForce 50 Mobile |
Both GPUs share 8 GB GDDR6 memory, a 128-bit bus width, and identical API support. They diverge on nearly every other specified field, with the AMD part using a newer process node, a higher boost clock, more memory bandwidth, more ROPs, and a higher pixel rate. The NVIDIA part counters with more shading units, TMUs, ray tracing cores, tensor cores, a higher texture rate, and a higher FP32 throughput.
Where Each One Wins
The AMD Radeon RX 9050 wins on memory bandwidth, listing 288.0 GB/s versus 256.0 GB/s for the NVIDIA part. This could benefit workloads that are memory-bandwidth sensitive, such as high-resolution texture streaming or certain compute tasks. The AMD part also has a higher pixel rate at 166.4 GPixel/s versus 59.04 GPixel/s, which may favor fill-rate-bound scenarios like heavy rasterization at high resolutions. The AMD chip also carries a much higher boost clock of 2600 MHz versus 1230 MHz, a higher base clock of 1330 MHz versus 735 MHz, and a game clock of 1920 MHz that NVIDIA does not list. Its ROP count of 64 versus 48 further supports a rasterization-oriented advantage.
The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q wins on shading throughput, with 4608 shading units and an FP32 rating of 11.34 TFLOPS against AMD's 1024 shading units and 10.65 TFLOPS. It also has more texture mapping units (144 versus 64) and a higher texture rate (177.1 GTexel/s versus 166.4 GTexel/s). The NVIDIA part's 36 ray tracing cores and 144 tensor cores versus AMD's 16 ray tracing cores and no tensor cores suggest a structural advantage for ray-traced workloads and tensor-based operations, though no benchmark data confirms this. The NVIDIA part also has a substantially lower TDP of 35 W versus 92 W, which positions it for power-constrained environments, and it uses no external power connector.
The Verdict
The database does not contain benchmark scores for either GPU, so any selection must rest on the recorded specifications. For users prioritizing rasterization throughput, the AMD Radeon RX 9050 offers a higher pixel rate, more ROPs, more memory bandwidth, and a significantly higher boost clock. Its 166.4 GPixel/s pixel rate more than doubles the NVIDIA part's 59.04 GPixel/s, and its 288.0 GB/s memory bandwidth exceeds the NVIDIA part's 256.0 GB/s. The AMD chip also uses a smaller process node (4 nm versus 5 nm) and a higher transistor density, which may indicate architectural efficiency.
For users prioritizing compute throughput or ray tracing capabilities, the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Max-Q lists more shading units, more ray tracing cores, and the only tensor cores in this comparison. Its FP32 rating of 11.34 TFLOPS is higher than AMD's 10.65 TFLOPS, and its texture rate of 177.1 GTexel/s edges out AMD's 166.4 GTexel/s. The NVIDIA part also draws far less power at 35 W versus 92 W, making it the more power-efficient option on paper. The NVIDIA part's IGP form factor and lack of power connectors also suit compact or mobile designs, while the AMD part's dual-slot footprint and 8-pin connector indicate a more conventional add-in card layout.
The release dates differ by over three years, with the AMD part launching in 2026 and the NVIDIA part in 2023. The NVIDIA part has a listed successor (GeForce 50 Mobile), while the AMD part does not. Without benchmark results, the data cannot declare a definitive performance winner. The specification sheets point to AMD for rasterization and bandwidth, and to NVIDIA for shading throughput, ray tracing hardware, and power efficiency. The choice depends on which specification cluster matches the intended workload, and the absence of measured scores leaves that decision to the user.