NVIDIA RTX A4500 Mobile vs NVIDIA RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell Comparison

NVIDIA
GEFORCE

NVIDIA RTX A4500 Mobile

CORE STATE GA104
VRAM 16 GB
CLOCK SPEED 1500 MHz
TDP 140 W
BUS WIDTH 256 bit
ARCHITECTURE Ampere
nm
PROCESS 8 nm
LAUNCH DATE 2022
VS
NVIDIA
GEFORCE

RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell

CORE STATE GB202
VRAM 48 GB
CLOCK SPEED 2377 MHz
TDP 300 W
BUS WIDTH 384 bit
ARCHITECTURE Blackwell 2.0
nm
PROCESS 5 nm
LAUNCH DATE 2025

PERFORMANCE BENCHMARKS

geekbench_opencl
105,307
254,116
geekbench_vulkan
76,960
282,631
3dmark_3dmark_steel_nomad_dx12
N/A
9,579.5

Analysis: NVIDIA RTX A4500 Mobile vs NVIDIA RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell

Head-to-Head Benchmarks

The recorded data shows a decisive sweep for the NVIDIA RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell in the two shared benchmark tests. In Geekbench OpenCL, the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell scores 254,116 against 105,307 for the RTX A4500 Mobile, a 141.3% advantage. This is not a marginal gap; it represents more than double the raw compute throughput in an API that stresses general-purpose GPU workloads. The Vulkan results are even more lopsided: 282,631 versus 76,960, a 267.2% delta. That is nearly four times the score, indicating the Blackwell architecture handles modern graphics and compute APIs with far greater efficiency per clock.

Looking at the broader database context, the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell sits at the 98th percentile among all GPUs, with an average benchmark score of 182,109. Its nearest rivals include the NVIDIA A100 SXM4 80 GB (average score 183,725, only 0.9% higher) and the RTX 5000 Ada Generation (184,664, 1.4% higher). The RTX A4500 Mobile, by contrast, lands at the 93rd percentile with an average score of 91,134. Its closest competitor is the desktop RTX A4500 (91,671, just 0.6% higher), meaning the mobile part essentially matches its desktop counterpart. The delta between the two products in the database is roughly 100% on average, which aligns with the head-to-head results.

The win tally is 2 for the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell, 0 for the RTX A4500 Mobile. Every measurable benchmark in the comparison favors the newer, larger chip. The Vulkan gap is especially telling because Vulkan tends to scale well with raw shader counts and memory bandwidth, both of which are dramatically higher on the Blackwell part.

Architecture Differences

The foundation of this performance split lies in the silicon itself. The RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell uses the GB202 chip built on a 5 nm process at TSMC, packing 92,200 million transistors into a 750 mm² die. That yields a transistor density of 122.9 million per square millimeter. The RTX A4500 Mobile uses the GA104 chip on Samsung's 8 nm process, with 17,400 million transistors on a 392 mm² die, or 44.4 million per square millimeter. The Blackwell part is not just larger; it is denser by a factor of nearly three, which explains how it fits 14080 shading units, 440 TMUs, and 160 ROPs into the same power envelope class.

The memory subsystem tells a similar story. The RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell ships with 48 GB of GDDR7 on a 384-bit bus, delivering 1.34 TB/s of bandwidth. The RTX A4500 Mobile has 16 GB of GDDR6 on a 256-bit bus, capping at 512.0 GB/s. That is a 2.6x bandwidth advantage for the Blackwell card, which directly feeds its higher fill rates: 380.3 GPixel/s versus 144.0 GPixel/s, and 1,045.9 GTexel/s versus 276.0 GTexel/s. Ray tracing hardware also scales: 110 RT cores and 440 tensor cores on the Blackwell, versus 46 RT cores and 184 tensor cores on the Ampere part. FP32 compute is 66.94 TFLOPS versus 17.66 TFLOPS, a 3.8x gap that shows up in the OpenCL benchmark.

Clock speeds differ as well. The RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell runs at a base of 1740 MHz and boosts to 2377 MHz. The RTX A4500 Mobile starts at 930 MHz and boosts to 1500 MHz. Even accounting for the mobile part's lower thermal budget, the raw clock advantage compounds with the core count advantage. The process node difference (5 nm versus 8 nm) and foundry choice (TSMC versus Samsung) are the root enablers of those clock and density gains.

FAQ

Q: Why does the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell have such a large Vulkan lead over the RTX A4500 Mobile?

A: The Vulkan score of 282,631 versus 76,960 (a 267.2% delta) reflects the combination of a 3.8x higher FP32 throughput (66.94 TFLOPS versus 17.66 TFLOPS) and a 2.6x memory bandwidth advantage (1.34 TB/s versus 512.0 GB/s). Vulkan scales with both shader count and data throughput, and the Blackwell part dominates on both axes.

Q: Is the RTX A4500 Mobile competitive with any other workstation GPUs?

A: The database shows its average score of 91,134 puts it within 0.6% of the desktop RTX A4500 (91,671) and 1.4% of the AMD Radeon Instinct MI60 (92,466). It is 4.2% ahead of the Quadro GP100 (87,445) and 4.6% ahead of the Radeon PRO W7600 (87,108). So it is a solid mid-range mobile part, just not in the same tier as the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell.

Q: What is the memory configuration difference, and why does it matter?

A: The RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell has 48 GB of GDDR7 on a 384-bit bus (1.34 TB/s), while the RTX A4500 Mobile has 16 GB of GDDR6 on a 256-bit bus (512.0 GB/s). The larger capacity and higher bandwidth allow the Blackwell part to handle larger datasets and more concurrent workloads without stalling on memory fetches.

Q: Does the RTX A4500 Mobile support the same APIs as the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell?

A: Yes, both support DirectX 12 Ultimate (12_2), OpenGL 4.6, and Vulkan 1.4. The API feature set is identical; the performance difference comes from the underlying hardware capabilities.

Q: How does the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell compare to its nearest rivals in the database?

A: Its average benchmark score of 182,109 is within 1.4% of the RTX 5000 Ada Generation (184,664) and 0.9% of the A100 SXM4 80 GB (183,725). It is 2.3% ahead of the GeForce RTX 4090 D (178,050) and 2.7% ahead of the A100 SXM4 40 GB (187,147, meaning the A100 40 GB is actually 2.7% higher, the delta is from the rival's perspective).

Specification Differences

| Field | NVIDIA RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell | NVIDIA RTX A4500 Mobile |

|-------|-------------------------------|--------------------------|

| Architecture | Blackwell 2.0 | Ampere |

| Process Node | 5 nm | 8 nm |

| Foundry | TSMC | Samsung |

| Transistors | 92,200 million | 17,400 million |

| Die Size | 750 mm² | 392 mm² |

| Transistor Density | 122.9M / mm² | 44.4M / mm² |

| Base Clock | 1740 MHz | 930 MHz |

| Boost Clock | 2377 MHz | 1500 MHz |

| Memory Size | 48 GB | 16 GB |

| Memory Type | GDDR7 | GDDR6 |

| Memory Bus | 384 bit | 256 bit |

| Memory Bandwidth | 1.34 TB/s | 512.0 GB/s |

| Shading Units | 14080 | 5888 |

| TMUs | 440 | 184 |

| ROPs | 160 | 96 |

| RT Cores | 110 | 46 |

| Tensor Cores | 440 | 184 |

| Pixel Rate | 380.3 GPixel/s | 144.0 GPixel/s |

| Texture Rate | 1,045.9 GTexel/s | 276.0 GTexel/s |

| FP32 | 66.94 TFLOPS | 17.66 TFLOPS |

| FP16 | 66.94 TFLOPS (1:1) | 17.66 TFLOPS (1:1) |

| TDP | 300 W | 140 W |

| Slot Width | Dual-slot | Not specified |

| Power Connectors | 1x 16-pin | None |

| Bus Interface | PCIe 5.0 x16 | PCIe 4.0 x16 |

| Display Outputs | 4x DisplayPort 2.1b | Portable Device Dependent |

| Production Status | Active | End-of-life |

| Release Date | 2025-03-17 | 2022-03-21 |

| Predecessor | Workstation Ada | Quadro Turing-M |

| Successor | None | Ada-MW |

| Launch MSRP | 5,099 USD | Not specified |

The Verdict

The data points to a clear hierarchy. The RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell is in the top 2% of all GPUs (98th percentile), while the RTX A4500 Mobile sits at the 93rd percentile. The average benchmark score gap is roughly 100% (182,109 versus 91,134), and in the two shared tests, the Blackwell part wins by 141.3% and 267.2%. For any workload that relies on FP32 compute, ray tracing, or memory bandwidth, the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell is the superior choice.

The RTX A4500 Mobile is not a weak product in absolute terms. It outperforms the Quadro GP100 by 4.2% and the Radeon PRO W7600 by 4.6%, and it nearly matches the desktop RTX A4500. But it is end-of-life, built on an older 8 nm Samsung process, and constrained by a 140 W mobile power budget. Its 16 GB memory capacity and 512.0 GB/s bandwidth are adequate for mid-range professional workloads, but they are not in the same league as the Blackwell part's 48 GB and 1.34 TB/s.

The choice is straightforward if you are selecting between these two for a new system. The RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell is active, current, and faster in every measured category. The RTX A4500 Mobile is a legacy part that should only be considered if you already have a system designed around it or need a low-power mobile solution where the 300 W desktop card is not an option.

Where Each One Wins

NVIDIA RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell wins in:

  • Raw compute throughput: 66.94 TFLOPS FP32 versus 17.66 TFLOPS, a 3.8x lead that shows up in OpenCL (141.3% higher score).
  • Modern API performance: Vulkan score is 267.2% higher, indicating better driver optimization and hardware support for current graphics workloads.
  • Memory capacity and bandwidth: 48 GB GDDR7 at 1.34 TB/s versus 16 GB GDDR6 at 512.0 GB/s. This matters for large dataset processing, AI training, and high-resolution rendering.
  • Ray tracing and tensor operations: 110 RT cores and 440 tensor cores versus 46 and 184, respectively. The Blackwell part is built for next-generation graphics and compute workloads.
  • Longevity: Active production status and a 2025 release date mean it will receive support for years to come.
  • Display flexibility: 4x DisplayPort 2.1b outputs versus portable-device-dependent outputs on the mobile part.

NVIDIA RTX A4500 Mobile wins in:

  • Power efficiency per unit of work: At 140 W TDP versus 300 W, it delivers 17.66 TFLOPS with less than half the power draw. For battery-powered or thermally constrained systems, this is the only practical option.
  • Physical footprint: No slot width, no power connectors, and no specified dimensions. It is designed to fit inside a laptop chassis, while the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell requires a dual-slot, 267 mm long, 111 mm tall, 40 mm wide card with a 16-pin connector and a 700 W suggested PSU.
  • Legacy compatibility: Its predecessor is Quadro Turing-M, and its successor is Ada-MW, meaning it belongs to a mature product line with established driver support for older professional applications.
  • Cost of entry: There is no launch MSRP recorded for the RTX A4500 Mobile, but the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell carries a 5,099 USD launch MSRP, which is a significant investment. The mobile part was likely more accessible at its launch, though that data is not in the database.

The verdict is not about which card is "better" in a vacuum. It is about matching the hardware to the environment. Desktop workstations with ample power and cooling should use the RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell. Mobile workstations that need professional-grade compute on the go have no alternative but the RTX A4500 Mobile, accepting its lower performance as the trade-off for portability.

DETAILED SPECIFICATIONS

SPECIFICATION
RTX A4500 Mobile
RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell
Core Specs
Shading Units
5,888
14,080 +139.1%
Shaders
5,888
14,080 +139.1%
TMUs
184
440 +139.1%
ROPs
96
160 +66.7%
SM Count
46
110 +139.1%
Clocks
Base Clock
930 MHz
1740 MHz
Boost Clock
1500 MHz
2377 MHz
Memory Clock
2000 MHz 16 Gbps effective
1750 MHz 28 Gbps effective
Memory
Memory Size
16 GB
48 GB
VRAM (MB)
16,384
49,152 +200.0%
Memory Type
GDDR6
GDDR7
Memory Bus
256 bit
384 bit
Bandwidth
512.0 GB/s
1.34 TB/s
Cache
L1 Cache
128 KB (per SM)
128 KB (per SM)
L2 Cache
4 MB
96 MB
Performance
Pixel Rate
144.0 GPixel/s
380.3 GPixel/s
Texture Rate
276.0 GTexel/s
1,045.9 GTexel/s
FP32 (TFLOPS)
17.66 TFLOPS
66.94 TFLOPS
FP64 (TFLOPS)
276.0 GFLOPS (1:64)
1,045.9 GFLOPS (1:64)
FP16 (TFLOPS)
17.66 TFLOPS (1:1)
66.94 TFLOPS (1:1)
AI/RT
RT Cores
46
110 +139.1%
Tensor Cores
184
440 +139.1%
Power
TDP
140 W
300 W
TDP (W)
140
300 +114.3%
Suggested PSU
—
700 W
Power Connectors
None
1x 16-pin
Architecture
Architecture
Ampere
Blackwell 2.0
GPU Name
GA104
GB202
Generation
Ampere-MW (Ax000)
Blackwell PRO W (x000)
Process Size
8 nm
5 nm
Transistors
17,400 million
92,200 million
Die Size
392 mm²
750 mm²
Foundry
Samsung
TSMC
Density
44.4M / mm²
122.9M / mm²
API Support
DirectX
12 Ultimate (12_2)
12 Ultimate (12_2)
OpenGL
4.6
4.6
Vulkan
1.4
1.4
OpenCL
3.0
3.0
CUDA
8.6
12.0
Shader Model
6.8
6.9
Physical
Slot Width
—
Dual-slot
Length
—
267 mm 10.5 inches
Height
—
111 mm 4.4 inches
Outputs
Portable Device Dependent
4x DisplayPort 2.1b
Bus Interface
PCIe 4.0 x16
PCIe 5.0 x16
Other
Launch Price
—
5,099 USD
Production
End-of-life
Active
Predecessor
Quadro Turing-M
Workstation Ada
Successor
Ada-MW
—
View RTX A4500 Mobile Details View RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell Details