NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Mobile vs NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Comparison
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Mobile
RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell
PERFORMANCE BENCHMARKS
Analysis: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Mobile vs NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell
Head-to-Head Benchmarks
The recorded data contains a single direct comparison between the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Mobile and the NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell: the 3DMark Steel Nomad DX12 test. The results are decisive. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell scores 16,408 points, while the RTX 3060 Mobile scores 1,821 points. This translates to a delta of -88.9% for the mobile part, meaning the desktop workstation GPU delivers approximately nine times the performance in this specific workload. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell wins the only head-to-head benchmark in the database.
Looking at broader context, the RTX 3060 Mobile has an average benchmark score of 18,159 across ten tests, while the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell has an average of 16,408 from a single test. The mobile GPU's average is skewed by its strong results in Geekbench OpenCL (79,483) and Vulkan (80,344), which are compute-oriented tests. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell's only recorded benchmark is the Steel Nomad DX12 test, which is a modern gaming-oriented workload. This makes the direct comparison somewhat lopsided; the data shows the workstation card excels in the one test where both are measured, but the mobile card has a wider range of recorded performance points.
The RTX 3060 Mobile's nearest rivals in the database include the AMD Radeon Pro 5700 (average score 18,189, delta -0.2%), the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER (average score 18,093, delta 0.4%), the AMD Radeon RX 460 (average score 18,373, delta -1.2%), and the Intel Arc A770M (average score 18,383, delta -1.2%). These deltas are all within 1.2 percentage points, indicating the RTX 3060 Mobile sits in a tightly packed performance band around its average score. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell's nearest rivals are the AMD Radeon PRO W7500 (average score 16,415, delta 0%), the AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT (average score 16,361, delta 0.3%), the AMD Radeon Pro 5600M (average score 16,351, delta 0.4%), and the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 D V2 (average score 16,504, delta -0.6%). Again, the deltas are minimal, showing the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell is precisely positioned among these cards in the Steel Nomad test.
The percentile rankings further clarify the picture. The RTX 3060 Mobile sits at the 62nd percentile among all GPUs, while the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell sits at the 59th percentile. This is counterintuitive given the massive score difference in the head-to-head test, but it reflects the fact that the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell's percentile is based on only one benchmark, while the RTX 3060 Mobile's is based on a broader set that includes strong compute scores. The data indicates that percentile rankings here are sensitive to the number of recorded tests.
FAQ
Q: Which GPU wins the only directly comparable benchmark?
A: The NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell wins the 3DMark Steel Nomad DX12 test with a score of 16,408 versus 1,821 for the RTX 3060 Mobile, a delta of -88.9% for the mobile part.
Q: How does the average benchmark score compare between the two?
A: The RTX 3060 Mobile has an average benchmark score of 18,159 across ten tests, while the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell has an average of 16,408 from a single test. The mobile card's average is higher due to its strong Geekbench results.
Q: What are the nearest rivals for each GPU in the database?
A: For the RTX 3060 Mobile, the nearest rivals are the AMD Radeon Pro 5700 (delta -0.2%), NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER (delta 0.4%), AMD Radeon RX 460 (delta -1.2%), and Intel Arc A770M (delta -1.2%). For the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell, the nearest rivals are the AMD Radeon PRO W7500 (delta 0%), AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT (delta 0.3%), AMD Radeon Pro 5600M (delta 0.4%), and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 D V2 (delta -0.6%).
Q: Which GPU has a higher percentile ranking among all GPUs?
A: The RTX 3060 Mobile ranks at the 62nd percentile, while the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell ranks at the 59th percentile. This reflects the mobile card's broader benchmark coverage, not necessarily superior raw performance.
Q: What is the memory configuration difference?
A: The RTX 3060 Mobile has 6 GB of GDDR6 memory on a 192-bit bus with 336.0 GB/s bandwidth. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell has 96 GB of GDDR7 memory on a 512-bit bus with 1.79 TB/s bandwidth.
Q: How do the compute scores differ between the two?
A: The RTX 3060 Mobile records Geekbench OpenCL score of 79,483 and Vulkan score of 80,344. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell has no Geekbench scores in the database, so no direct compute comparison is possible.
Architecture Differences
The two GPUs come from different architectural generations and foundries. The RTX 3060 Mobile uses the GA106 chip based on the Ampere architecture, manufactured on an 8 nm process by Samsung. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell uses the GB202 chip based on the Blackwell 2.0 architecture, manufactured on a 5 nm process by TSMC. The transistor counts differ massively: 12,000 million for the Ampere chip versus 92,200 million for the Blackwell chip. Die size also diverges, with the GA106 at 276 mm² and the GB202 at 750 mm². Transistor density jumps from 43.5M per mm² to 122.9M per mm², reflecting the newer process node.
Core configurations are drastically different. The RTX 3060 Mobile has 3,840 shading units, 120 texture mapping units, and 48 raster output units. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell has 24,064 shading units, 752 TMUs, and 192 ROPs. Ray tracing and tensor cores follow suit: the mobile card has 30 RT cores and 120 tensor cores, while the workstation card has 188 RT cores and 752 tensor cores. Pixel rate is 68.40 GPixel/s for the mobile part versus 502.5 GPixel/s for the workstation part. Texture rate is 171.0 GTexel/s versus 1,968.0 GTexel/s. FP32 and FP16 compute are both 10.94 TFLOPS for the RTX 3060 Mobile, while the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell delivers 126.0 TFLOPS in both precisions (1:1 ratio).
Memory architecture is a major differentiator. The RTX 3060 Mobile uses 6 GB GDDR6 with a 192-bit bus and 336.0 GB/s bandwidth. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell uses 96 GB GDDR7 with a 512-bit bus and 1.79 TB/s bandwidth. The memory clock is listed as 1750 MHz for both, but the effective speed differs: 14 Gbps for the mobile GDDR6 versus 28 Gbps for the GDDR7. The bus interface also differs, with PCIe 4.0 x16 on the mobile card and PCIe 5.0 x16 on the workstation card.
Power and physical characteristics vary widely. The RTX 3060 Mobile has a TDP of 80 W and no power connectors, being a portable device. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell has a TDP of 600 W, a dual-slot width, a single 16-pin power connector, and a suggested PSU of 1000 W. Its dimensions are 304 mm in length, 137 mm in height, and 40 mm in width. Display outputs are portable-device dependent for the mobile card, while the workstation card offers 4x DisplayPort 2.1b.
Both GPUs support DirectX 12 Ultimate (12_2), OpenGL 4.6, and Vulkan 1.4. The production status differs: the RTX 3060 Mobile is end-of-life, while the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell is active. Release dates are January 2021 for the mobile part and March 2025 for the workstation part.
The Verdict
The data shows a clear performance hierarchy in the single directly comparable benchmark. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell dominates the RTX 3060 Mobile in the 3DMark Steel Nomad DX12 test, scoring 16,408 versus 1,821, a gap of 88.9%. This is not a close contest; the workstation card is in a different performance class entirely for this workload.
However, the RTX 3060 Mobile holds its own in the broader benchmark suite. Its average score of 18,159 across ten tests exceeds the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell's average of 16,408 from one test. This is driven by the mobile card's strong Geekbench OpenCL and Vulkan scores, which suggest competitive compute performance in certain APIs. The RTX 3060 Mobile also ranks higher in percentile at 62 versus 59, though this may be an artifact of test coverage.
Who should pick which depends on the workload. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell is the obvious choice for applications that stress modern DirectX 12 gaming or rendering workloads, as evidenced by its Steel Nomad result. The RTX 3060 Mobile, being a mobile part with an 80 W TDP, is suited for portable use cases where power draw is constrained and the benchmark mix includes OpenCL or Vulkan compute tasks. The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell's 600 W TDP and dual-slot design make it a desktop workstation component, not a mobile solution.
The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell also offers vastly more memory (96 GB versus 6 GB) and higher bandwidth (1.79 TB/s versus 336.0 GB/s), which would matter for large datasets, but the database does not include memory-specific benchmarks to quantify this. The single head-to-head test is the only direct evidence, and it favors the workstation card overwhelmingly.
Specification Differences
| Specification | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Mobile | NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture | Ampere | Blackwell 2.0 |
| Process node | 8 nm | 5 nm |
| Foundry | Samsung | TSMC |
| Transistors | 12,000 million | 92,200 million |
| Die size | 276 mm² | 750 mm² |
| Transistor density | 43.5M / mm² | 122.9M / mm² |
| Base clock | 900 MHz | 1590 MHz |
| Boost clock | 1425 MHz | 2617 MHz |
| Memory size | 6 GB | 96 GB |
| Memory type | GDDR6 | GDDR7 |
| Memory bus width | 192 bit | 512 bit |
| Memory bandwidth | 336.0 GB/s | 1.79 TB/s |
| Memory effective speed | 14 Gbps | 28 Gbps |
| Shading units | 3840 | 24064 |
| TMUs | 120 | 752 |
| ROPs | 48 | 192 |
| RT cores | 30 | 188 |
| Tensor cores | 120 | 752 |
| Pixel rate | 68.40 GPixel/s | 502.5 GPixel/s |
| Texture rate | 171.0 GTexel/s | 1,968.0 GTexel/s |
| FP32 compute | 10.94 TFLOPS | 126.0 TFLOPS |
| FP16 compute | 10.94 TFLOPS (1:1) | 126.0 TFLOPS (1:1) |
| TDP | 80 W | 600 W |
| Slot width | Not specified | Dual-slot |
| Power connectors | None | 1x 16-pin |
| Suggested PSU | Not specified | 1000 W |
| Bus interface | PCIe 4.0 x16 | PCIe 5.0 x16 |
| Display outputs | Portable Device Dependent | 4x DisplayPort 2.1b |
| Dimensions | Not specified | 304 mm x 137 mm x 40 mm |
| Production status | End-of-life | Active |
| Release date | 2021-01-11 | 2025-03-17 |
| Launch MSRP | Not specified | 8,565 USD |
Where Each One Wins
The RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell wins in the only directly comparable benchmark, the 3DMark Steel Nomad DX12 test, by a margin of 88.9%. This indicates dominance in modern DirectX 12 workloads, likely including gaming and real-time rendering. Its 96 GB of GDDR7 memory and 1.79 TB/s bandwidth, while not benchmarked directly, suggest a strong fit for memory-intensive tasks such as large-scale 3D scenes, high-resolution textures, or scientific visualization. The workstation card's 126.0 TFLOPS FP32 and FP16 compute, along with 188 RT cores and 752 tensor cores, position it for heavy compute, ray tracing, and AI workloads. Its PCIe 5.0 interface and DisplayPort 2.1b outputs further support a desktop workstation role.
The RTX 3060 Mobile wins in the broader benchmark suite due to its higher average score, driven by Geekbench OpenCL (79,483) and Vulkan (80,344) results. These scores indicate competitive compute performance in those specific APIs, which may appeal to users running OpenCL-based applications or Vulkan compute tasks. Its lower TDP of 80 W and lack of power connectors make it suitable for portable devices, where the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell's 600 W TDP and physical size would be impractical. The mobile card's PassMark scores, including DirectX 10 (90), DirectX 11 (110), DirectX 12 (58), DirectX 9 (146), G2D (588), G3D (13,230), and GPU compute (5,718), provide a broader view of legacy and 2D performance, which the workstation card lacks in the database.
In summary, the RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell is the clear winner for high-end desktop workloads, particularly those leveraging DirectX 12. The RTX 3060 Mobile offers a different tradeoff: portability, lower power, and competitive OpenCL/Vulkan compute scores, making it a reasonable choice for mobile users with those specific needs. The data does not support a single universal winner; the choice depends on the workload and form factor.