NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 vs NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 A Mobile Comparison
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
GeForce RTX 3050 A Mobile
PERFORMANCE BENCHMARKS
Analysis: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 vs NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 A Mobile
# NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 vs NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 A Mobile
The benchmark data clearly separates these two NVIDIA parts by a decade of architectural progress, but the results are not as one-sided as the generational gap might suggest. The RTX 3050 A Mobile wins the only shared head-to-head benchmark decisively, yet the GTX 760 holds a higher overall percentile ranking across all GPUs. In Geekbench OpenCL, the RTX 3050 A Mobile scores 52,998 against the GTX 760's 11,299, a 78.7% advantage — but the GTX 760's average benchmark score of 9,458 places it in the 46th percentile, while the RTX 3050 A Mobile's 8,746 average sits in the 44th percentile. The verdict: the RTX 3050 A Mobile is the raw compute winner, but the GTX 760 remains competitively positioned in aggregate benchmarks despite its age.
The Verdict
Choose the RTX 3050 A Mobile if your priority is modern compute throughput and API support. Its Geekbench OpenCL score of 52,998 is more than 4.6 times higher than the GTX 760's 11,299, and its FP32 performance of 4.813 TFLOPS doubles the GTX 760's 2.378 TFLOPS. The mobile part also brings DirectX 12 Ultimate (12_2), Vulkan 1.4, and hardware ray tracing and tensor cores — features the GTX 760 completely lacks.
Choose the GTX 760 if you need a desktop card with established driver maturity and competitive aggregate scores. Its average benchmark score of 9,458 edges out the RTX 3050 A Mobile's 8,746, and its 46th percentile ranking versus 44th suggests the older card sits marginally higher among all GPUs. The GTX 760 also offers dual-slot cooling, 2x 6-pin power connectors, and multiple display outputs (2x DVI, 1x HDMI 1.4a, 1x DisplayPort 1.2) — the RTX 3050 A Mobile's outputs are "Portable Device Dependent."
For gamers on modern titles, the RTX 3050 A Mobile's architecture advantages are decisive. For legacy applications or desktop integration, the GTX 760's form factor and connectivity win. Neither card dominates the other across all metrics; the data shows a split verdict based on workload.
Architecture Differences
The GTX 760 uses the GK104 chip built on Kepler architecture at 28 nm (TSMC), packing 3,540 million transistors into a 294 mm² die. The RTX 3050 A Mobile uses the GA106 chip on Ampere architecture at 8 nm (Samsung), containing 12,000 million transistors in a 276 mm² die. The process shrink yields a transistor density of 43.5M / mm² for Ampere versus 12.0M / mm² for Kepler — a 3.6x density improvement.
Core configuration diverges sharply. The GTX 760 has 1,152 shading units, 96 TMUs, and 32 ROPs. The RTX 3050 A Mobile has 1,792 shading units, 56 TMUs, and 32 ROPs — more shaders but fewer texture units. Critically, the RTX 3050 A Mobile adds 14 RT cores and 56 tensor cores, enabling ray tracing and AI acceleration that Kepler cannot offer. The GTX 760 has no equivalent hardware.
Memory subsystems tell a story of bandwidth parity with capacity differences. Both deliver similar bandwidth: the GTX 760 at 192.3 GB/s over a 256-bit bus with 2 GB GDDR5, and the RTX 3050 A Mobile at 192.0 GB/s over a 128-bit bus with 4 GB GDDR6. The mobile card doubles capacity while halving bus width, relying on faster GDDR6 memory at 12 Gbps effective versus 6 Gbps effective for the GTX 760.
API support reflects the generational divide. The GTX 760 supports DirectX 12 (11_0), OpenGL 4.6, and Vulkan 1.2.175. The RTX 3050 A Mobile supports DirectX 12 Ultimate (12_2), OpenGL 4.6, and Vulkan 1.4 — a full feature-level jump. Power draw differs dramatically: 170 W TDP for the desktop GTX 760 versus 45 W for the mobile RTX 3050 A Mobile, a 73.5% reduction. The GTX 760 requires a 450 W suggested PSU and dual-slot cooling; the RTX 3050 A Mobile is an IGP with no power connectors.
Where Each One Wins
RTX 3050 A Mobile wins on raw compute and modern workloads. The Geekbench OpenCL score of 52,998 versus 11,299 shows a 78.7% lead — the only directly comparable benchmark in the data. Its FP32 rate of 4.813 TFLOPS more than doubles the GTX 760's 2.378 TFLOPS. The mobile card also delivers FP16 at 4.813 TFLOPS (1:1) , a feature the GTX 760 lacks entirely (no FP16 data). Pixel rate favors the RTX 3050 A Mobile at 42.98 GPixel/s versus 24.77 GPixel/s for the GTX 760 — a 73.5% higher fill rate.
GTX 760 wins on texture throughput and aggregate standing. Its texture rate of 99.07 GTexel/s exceeds the RTX 3050 A Mobile's 75.21 GTexel/s by 31.7%, thanks to 96 TMUs versus 56. The GTX 760's average benchmark score of 9,458 beats 8,746, and its 46th percentile rank tops 44th. In its nearest rival comparison, the GTX 760 sits just 0.2% behind the GTX TITAN BLACK (9,474) and 1.6% ahead of the Radeon R7 M380 (9,313). The RTX 3050 A Mobile ties the GTX 460 v2 (8,743, 0% delta) and sits 0.7% ahead of the Quadro P2200 (8,686).
The GTX 760 also wins on desktop practicality: dual-slot design, 2x 6-pin power, and four display outputs versus the mobile part's IGP form factor and device-dependent outputs. For compute-heavy applications, the RTX 3050 A Mobile is the clear choice; for texture-bound workloads and aggregate performance, the GTX 760 holds its ground.
FAQ
Q: Which GPU has higher overall benchmark performance?
A: The GTX 760 has a higher average benchmark score of 9,458 compared to the RTX 3050 A Mobile's 8,746, and ranks in the 46th percentile versus 44th for the mobile card.
Q: How much faster is the RTX 3050 A Mobile in OpenCL?
A: The RTX 3050 A Mobile scores 52,998 in Geekbench OpenCL versus 11,299 for the GTX 760, representing a 78.7% lead.
Q: Does the RTX 3050 A Mobile support ray tracing?
A: Yes, it includes 14 RT cores and 56 tensor cores, enabling hardware ray tracing and AI acceleration. The GTX 760 has no RT or tensor cores.
Q: What are the memory capacity differences?
A: The RTX 3050 A Mobile has 4 GB of GDDR6 memory, while the GTX 760 has 2 GB of GDDR5. Bandwidth is nearly identical: 192.0 GB/s versus 192.3 GB/s respectively.
Q: Which card has better texture processing?
A: The GTX 760, with 96 TMUs and a texture rate of 99.07 GTexel/s, outperforms the RTX 3050 A Mobile's 56 TMUs and 75.21 GTexel/s by 31.7%.
Q: What are the power requirements for each?
A: The GTX 760 has a 170 W TDP and requires a 450 W suggested PSU with 2x 6-pin connectors. The RTX 3050 A Mobile has a 45 W TDP, no power connectors, and is an IGP (integrated graphics package).
Head-to-Head Benchmarks
The only direct head-to-head benchmark in the data is Geekbench OpenCL, and it delivers a decisive victory for the RTX 3050 A Mobile. The mobile card scores 52,998 against the GTX 760's 11,299, a delta of -78.7% from the RTX 3050 A Mobile's perspective. This is not a marginal win — the RTX 3050 A Mobile is 4.69 times faster in this compute test. The margin reflects the architectural leap: 1,792 shaders versus 1,152, 8 nm versus 28 nm, and FP32 output of 4.813 TFLOPS versus 2.378 TFLOPS.
However, the aggregate benchmark picture tells a different story. The GTX 760's average score of 9,458 exceeds the RTX 3050 A Mobile's 8,746 by 8.1%. The GTX 760's nearest rivals include the GTX TITAN BLACK at 9,474 (-0.2% delta) and the Radeon R7 M380 at 9,313 (+1.6%), placing it in familiar desktop GPU territory. The RTX 3050 A Mobile's rivals include the GTX 460 v2 at 8,743 (0% delta) and the Quadro P2200 at 8,686 (+0.7%), showing it competes at a lower absolute performance tier.
The pixel rate comparison reinforces the RTX 3050 A Mobile's advantage in fill-bound scenarios: 42.98 GPixel/s versus 24.77 GPixel/s, a 73.5% improvement. But the texture rate flips the script — the GTX 760's 99.07 GTexel/s beats 75.21 GTexel/s by 31.7%. These countervailing strengths explain why the aggregate scores remain close despite the OpenCL blowout. The RTX 3050 A Mobile wins the modern compute test decisively; the GTX 760 wins the texture throughput battle. Neither card sweeps the data.
Specification Differences
| Specification | GTX 760 | RTX 3050 A Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture | Kepler | Ampere |
| Process Node | 28 nm | 8 nm |
| Foundry | TSMC | Samsung |
| Transistors | 3,540 million | 12,000 million |
| Die Size | 294 mm² | 276 mm² |
| Transistor Density | 12.0M / mm² | 43.5M / mm² |
| Shading Units | 1,152 | 1,792 |
| TMUs | 96 | 56 |
| ROPs | 32 | 32 |
| RT Cores | None | 14 |
| Tensor Cores | None | 56 |
| Base Clock | 980 MHz | 1065 MHz |
| Boost Clock | 1032 MHz | 1343 MHz |
| Memory Size | 2 GB | 4 GB |
| Memory Type | GDDR5 | GDDR6 |
| Memory Bus | 256 bit | 128 bit |
| Memory Bandwidth | 192.3 GB/s | 192.0 GB/s |
| FP32 Performance | 2.378 TFLOPS | 4.813 TFLOPS |
| FP16 Performance | Not available | 4.813 TFLOPS (1:1) |
| Pixel Rate | 24.77 GPixel/s | 42.98 GPixel/s |
| Texture Rate | 99.07 GTexel/s | 75.21 GTexel/s |
| TDP | 170 W | 45 W |
| Slot Width | Dual-slot | IGP |
| Power Connectors | 2x 6-pin | None |
| Suggested PSU | 450 W | Not specified |
| Bus Interface | PCIe 3.0 x16 | PCIe 4.0 x8 |
| DirectX Support | 12 (11_0) | 12 Ultimate (12_2) |
| Vulkan Support | 1.2.175 | 1.4 |
| Release Date | 2013-06-24 | 2023-12-31 |
| Launch MSRP | 249 USD | Not specified |