AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 vs Intel Core 7 251E Comparison
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
Core 7 251E
PERFORMANCE BENCHMARKS
Analysis: AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 vs Intel Core 7 251E
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and Intel Core 7 251E are both active processors, but they occupy different segments, one mobile and one desktop. The recorded data shows a significant performance gulf, though the Intel part has a notable advantage in raw core count and clock speed ceilings.
Head-to-Head Benchmarks
Direct benchmark comparisons are not available in the database, as the Intel Core 7 251E has no recorded benchmark scores. The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, however, has a complete set of measurements across multiple test suites, and the data indicates it is a high-performance part.
The AMD processor delivers a Cinebench R23 multi-core score of 35314 and a single-core score of 2044. In Geekbench, it records a multi-core score of 20992 and a single-core score of 2464. These results place the Ryzen AI Max+ 395 in the 95th percentile of all CPUs in the database, with an average benchmark score of 77740.
The Passmark suite shows strong results for the AMD chip, particularly in integer math (200665) and floating point math (128682). Its multi-thread score is 54934, and its single-thread score is 4147. Data compression performance is 690650, while encryption scores 35455 and extended instructions score 56346. The processor also records 76177 in random string sorting and a physics score of 3481. The find prime numbers test yields a score of 303.
Since the Intel Core 7 251E lacks any benchmark entries, the data cannot confirm its relative standing. Its percentile ranking of 50 and average score of 0 reflect the absence of measurements rather than a performance verdict. The AMD part, by contrast, has a clear performance profile, with its nearest rivals in the database being the AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 9945WX (1.6% lower average score), AMD EPYC Embedded 8224P (1.6% lower), and AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX (2% lower). The Intel Core i9-14900K sits 1.7% higher in average score.
Architecture Differences
The two processors differ fundamentally in design and target platform. The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 uses the Zen 5 architecture with the Strix Halo codename, built on a 4 nm process at TSMC. It features 16 cores and 32 threads. The Intel Core 7 251E uses the Bartlett Lake codename, built on a 10 nm process at Intel, with 24 cores and 32 threads. Both processors offer the same thread count, but the Intel part achieves this with more physical cores.
Cache configurations also diverge. The AMD processor has 80 KB of L1 cache per core, 1 MB of L2 per core, and a large 64 MB shared L3 cache. The Intel part matches the L1 cache at 80 KB per core but doubles the L2 to 2 MB per core, while its shared L3 cache is smaller at 36 MB. The AMD chip’s larger L3 pool likely benefits workloads with high data reuse.
Memory support is another clear split. The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 supports LPDDR5X memory over a quad-channel bus, delivering a memory bandwidth of 256.0 GB/s. The Intel Core 7 251E supports both DDR4 and DDR5 over a dual-channel bus, with a memory bandwidth of 89.6 GB/s. The AMD part has nearly three times the memory bandwidth, a substantial difference for memory-intensive tasks.
The integrated graphics differ as well. The AMD processor includes a Radeon 8060S, while the Intel part uses UHD Graphics 770. PCIe support also differs, with the AMD chip using Gen 4 with 16 lanes (CPU only), and the Intel chip using Gen 5 with 16 lanes (CPU only). Both are locked multipliers and support ECC memory. The AMD part uses AMD Socket FP11, while the Intel part uses Intel Socket 1700. The Intel processor has a launch MSRP of $384.
FAQ
Q: Which processor has more cores?
A: The Intel Core 7 251E has 24 cores, while the AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 has 16 cores. Both have 32 threads.
Q: What is the memory bandwidth difference between the two?
A: The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 has a memory bandwidth of 256.0 GB/s over a quad-channel LPDDR5X bus. The Intel Core 7 251E has a memory bandwidth of 89.6 GB/s over a dual-channel DDR4 or DDR5 bus.
Q: Which processor has a higher boost clock?
A: The Intel Core 7 251E has a boost clock of 5.60 GHz, which is higher than the AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395’s boost clock of 5.10 GHz.
Q: What is the process node for each chip?
A: The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 is built on a 4 nm process at TSMC. The Intel Core 7 251E is built on a 10 nm process at Intel.
Q: Does the Intel Core 7 251E have any benchmark scores in the database?
A: No, the Intel Core 7 251E has no recorded benchmark scores. The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 has a full set of recorded scores.
Q: What is the L3 cache size for each processor?
A: The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 has 64 MB of shared L3 cache. The Intel Core 7 251E has 36 MB of shared L3 cache.
The Verdict
The data indicates a clear performance leader. The AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 delivers substantial multi-core and single-core scores across Cinebench R23, Geekbench, and Passmark, placing it in the 95th percentile of all CPUs. Its average benchmark score of 77740 demonstrates a high level of capability, and its nearest rivals in the database are all high-end desktop or workstation parts.
The Intel Core 7 251E has no recorded benchmarks, so the database cannot assess its actual performance. Its 24 cores and 5.60 GHz boost clock suggest potential in multi-threaded workloads, but without measurements, that remains speculative. The AMD part’s quad-channel memory support and 256.0 GB/s bandwidth give it a structural advantage in memory-sensitive applications, while its larger 64 MB L3 cache supports data-heavy tasks.
For users relying on benchmark data to make a selection, the AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 is the only option with verified performance metrics. The Intel Core 7 251E, being a desktop part on Socket 1700 with a 65 W TDP, may suit a different build type, but its performance profile is unmeasured. The recorded data favors the AMD processor, which shows a comprehensive and high-scoring benchmark record.
Specification Differences
The table below lists the fields where the two processors differ.
| Specification | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 | Intel Core 7 251E |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Manufacturer | AMD | Intel |
| Cores | 16 | 24 |
| Base Clock | 3.00 GHz | 2.10 GHz |
| Boost Clock | 5.10 GHz | 5.60 GHz |
| TDP | 55 W | 65 W |
| Socket | AMD Socket FP11 | Intel Socket 1700 |
| Architecture | Zen 5 | Not specified |
| Codename | Strix Halo | Bartlett Lake |
| Generation | Ryzen AI Max (Zen 5 (Strix Halo)) | Core 7 (Bartlett Lake) |
| Process Node | 4 nm | 10 nm |
| Foundry | TSMC | Intel |
| Die Size | 2x 70.6 mm² | 257 mm² |
| L2 Cache | 1 MB (per core) | 2 MB (per core) |
| L3 Cache | 64 MB (shared) | 36 MB (shared) |
| Memory Support | LPDDR5X | DDR4, DDR5 |
| Memory Bus | Quad-channel | Dual-channel |
| Memory Bandwidth | 256.0 GB/s | 89.6 GB/s |
| PCIe | Gen 4, 16 Lanes (CPU only) | Gen 5, 16 Lanes (CPU only) |
| Integrated Graphics | Radeon 8060S | UHD Graphics 770 |
| Market Segment | Mobile | Desktop |
| Release Date | 2025-01-05T17:00:00.000Z | 2025-01-12T17:00:00.000Z |
| Launch MSRP | Not specified | $384 |
| Part Number | 100-000001099 | SRQDUQ657 |
| Percentile vs All CPUs | 95 | 50 |
| Average Benchmark Score | 77740 | 0 |
| Nearest Rivals | Multiple listed | None listed |